Nothing Is Strange-Mike Russell Book Review

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review

Once again I swan dive into the depths of the strange and alluring world of Mike Russell. I chat with satisfaction, have a little dance with paranoia and dine with diversity over a roof top view of the universe. Prepare to have you mind blown, literally. You will find pieces of your brain scattered beautifully upon the page. It’s quite liberating, to expand the mind and turn those cogs manually for once. To see behind the facade of everyday life, ask those questions and open Pandora’s box.

IMG_7690_Fotoreye

Thank you to the amazing people at Strangebooks for this opportunity to review Nothing is Strange by Mike Russell. As always it is a pleasure to work with such a bunch of talented people. Hats off to you. Seriously, if you haven’t checked them out you should. Discover a strange and enchanting world and steel yourself to look through the keyhole. 20 extraordinary short stories await you in Nothing Is Strange. Be prepared for the odd and unusual, this material is not for the faint at heart. Dare you read on dear reader?

“The barber cut the hermaphrodite in two, thus beginning the universe.”

IMG_7508_Fotorggg.jpg

Russell’s writing style reminds me in ways of H. P. Lovecraft, unique and hypnotic. There are times you want to look away but can’t. Similar to when you have a scab, you know you shouldn’t pick at it but you find yourself making it bleed until it scabs over again thus beginning an endless loop. You are creating your own vicious cycle until you break the chain and ask yourself why you ever did that. Why did you deliberately make yourself bleed when you knew of the consequence? You know the answer so why ask the question? This, ladies and gentlemen is the crux of the matter.

“Maybe if we understood what is really going on we wouldn’t cry at all, ever.”

What I like about Russell’s style of writing is that it is thought-provoking. It makes you ask yourself a lot of questions; let’s throw away those rose-tinted glasses shall we folks and take a good hard look at reality and beyond. In ways it’s reminiscent of that feeling of being tipsy. A good and happy feeling in my personal opinion. Can you get drunk from reading? Is it possible to pick up a tasty liqueur of fine creativity from your local supermarket on a Friday night? Russell’s writing is similar to that, knowledgeable and comforting. The world makes sense all of a sudden and things slot into place. You wonder why you have never seen it like this before, that it is all so simple. A lightbulb moment forever frozen in time where you are looking down on yourself and finally making sense of the world. Drink anyone?

“We all already occupy the same space,” Harry whispers. “It is just our centres that are at different points.”

I strongly recommend that you check out Russell’s work. There is always more to his writing than meets the eye. His use of imagery is striking and effective. He enhances the readers senses to the max. As much as I love my imagination and the images that these stories create in my mind, I would love to see them adapted on the sliver screen. From the amount of remakes and reboots the film industry is getting at the moment, it is yearning for some talent and creativity. I believe this would be perfect. *hint hint to all the famous film directors out there, get on it.”

IMG_7503_Fotorg.jpg

 

I give this book a five out of five paw rating.

aTqb75nTM aTqb75nTM aTqb75nTM aTqb75nTM aTqb75nTM

IMG_7551.JPG

It was the perfect wine to savour after my three course meal. Think I will have another glass, make that a bottle! Cheers!

Don’t forget to check out StrangBooks and grab yourself a new fascinating read!

Hop hop wiggle wiggle

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in arts, be who you are, be yourself, being a writer, blog, blogger, book, Book Blog, Book Blogger, Book Review, Book Reviewer, Booklover, Books are my thing, Bookworm, chat, creative writing, discovery, fear, Fiction, how I live, just being myself, Let's Talk About Books!, life, Lifestyle, Love, my life, my world, natter, Nothing Is Strange, reading, StrangeBooks, Uncategorized, wordpress, writer, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

