Oh I do Like To Be Beside The Seaside! Our First Family Holiday

Hello dear readers, I hope all is well and you have been enjoying this beautiful weather we have been blessed with. We were lucky enough to go away last week for our first family holiday (EVER) to Devon. It was a much-needed getaway, to basically do whatever we wanted with a beautiful view seconds from our doorstep. These past few months have been…well…the worst. I feel like I am trapped in a snow globe, just when I think things have finally settled for a while, some snot-nosed-grubby-handed child comes by and shakes the whole thing up, bringing more chaos and destruction. So yeah…as I said, much-needed.

After much deliberation we decided to visit Devon, a place where we both can forget our problems in sea and sand. We stayed in a little villa at Golden Coast Park in Woolacombe. Although the villa smelled of wet dog (pet friendly villa) it wasn’t too bad, we were hardly there in all honesty. Half our time was spent in the pool, playing or visiting the picturesque seaside village. Our villa consisted of a lounge, kitchen, downstairs bathroom and two bedrooms upstairs. We had room to breathe which was a blessing and our son could explore freely. It was a dream to pretend for a few days that this little villa was ours and we lived here. We have only ever known accommodation under someone else’s roof (very much appreciated) so to have this villa to just ourselves was a treat. It’s like when you play house as a child and you pretend you’re a grown up, you feel confident and independent. This is your little home with your dolls and toy food that you cooked in your purple oven. It’s fun to play pretend, even if it’s only for a while. Everyone needs their own space and we really needed ours at this difficult time.

Our plan for our holiday was simple. We didn’t set any goals or add any extra pressure on us as after all it was a holiday, a time to enjoy and have no rules.

We took our son swimming for the first time in his Batman wetsuit armed with armbands. There were a few tears at first but after a while he was loving it. He floated along with us and couldn’t stop smiling. Since we have been back in the civilised world we have decided to take him swimming more often. I’m not sure why it has taken us this long (He’s only 16 months, mind you) to take him swimming, it has been on our list but we have never gotten round to it. Life gets in the way.

11141312_10153859962999202_6656703474732095887_n

11351199_10153859963984202_4544521491427952016_n

We also played a 9 hole golf course with a sea view, Cabbit was an excellent umpire. It was the second time the husband and I got the chance to play on a golf course, the first being on our honeymoon. I was worried at first that Cabbit would hate it, that he would moan and start crying but lo and behold he loved it. He found it fascinating watching his father take amazing long shots while his mother failed badly and kept digging up the grass. I did feel a bit of a fool as I am not a very professional golfer, I did take golf in PE but that was just at a driving range and I spent half of my time missing the ball and sending the tee flying. I was lucky I didn’t hit anyone with my ball, but then again I am a beginner. Once we finished the course which may have taken us about 2 hours to finish (It was a BIG course!) we treated ourselves to fish and chips by the seaside. I wish we had more time as we would have played it again, I could practice on trying to look like I know what I am doing.

10931163_10153859959709202_3847478389712654673_n

We spent the remaining time of our holiday just relaxing, playing pool, mini golf, more swimming and enjoying life. I would strongly recommend any of the Woolacombe parks to anyone looking for a family break by the sea. They have plenty of activities for children and adults to enjoy. Also the price isn’t too bad if you get it on a deal like we did. Check them out for yourselves and see what you think.

https://www.woolacombe.co.uk/

Hop hop wiggle wiggle.

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in Baby, beach, blog, children, creative writing, Devon, Family, Golf, Hoilday, life, Lifestyle, Love, Motherhood, seaside, swimming, Toddler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

