Cabbit’s First Pair Of New Shoes!

Hello dear readers, I hope you are all well. Is it just me or has our dear friend, the sun, been trying to make an appearance over the last few days? I hope not as I am not a sun person. I love the cold weather! I just melt in the heat, not fun.

Anyway, last weekend we went away to visit granddad Bob. It was a much-needed weekend away (which turned into a 4 day weekend) as we have been so busy lately, my husband doing his university projects and me doing my writing and of course both being parents. On our weekend away we decided that it was also the perfect time to get Cabbit his first pair of shoes as he is becoming a more and more confident walker each day. What a fun visit to the shoe shop that was…

We drove to a big trading estate with a Brantano and took a gander inside. Cabbit is now 1 year and one month old (and a few days, but hey who’s counting) so we thought enough time has passed that it now seemed appropriate for our son to get his first pair of shoes. We had been told by GPs and Midwives all throughout my pregnancy that we should only buy him shoes when he can actually walk with confidence because if you put you children in to shoes before they can walk properly it doesn’t help the development of their feet (arches etc.). It actually makes it harder for them to learn. So we decided to leave the shoes until the whole walking thing happened and it seems to have worked out alright in the end.

As I was saying, we went to Brantano and were lucky enough to have the whole shop to ourselves. I find this to be both a good and bad thing. Good: You can wander around without bumping into people. Bad: The sales assistants watch you like crazy and it really drives me mad!

IMG_6541

We all got our feet sized and I was shocked to learn that I was a 6 and a half! I have not been able to fit into a 6 and a half since my teenage days. I wear size 8 because I was a size 7 but when I got pregnant my feet went up a size. Madness!

Cabbit was so well-behaved when the lovely sales assistant sized his feet, he nearly went for her hair but decided against it. Good choice. We were then shown some shoes in his size and decided on a lovely navy blue pair with little aeroplanes on them. They are cruiser soles, which means they are soft and not hard like trainers but still hard enough to protect little feet from day-to-day roughness on the floor. Apparently it is best to start off with these so your child can get used to wearing something on their feet before moving up to a harder sole. Works for us.

IMG_6568

I was a little disappointed that we did’t get him a set of wellies because all three of us desperately wanted to go puddle jumping. But we only have to wait a few weeks before we can, so not long! Beware puddles, the Mackay family are coming for you.

I think the trip was a success, even if after he had chosen his news shoes Cabbit went wandering off through the shop picking up shoes (high-heeled shoes in particular!) and throwing them on the floor. Oh child of ours, we do love you.

Right I am off to make some spaghetti for us all and snuggle down with a family film for the night. Enjoy your evening everyone and if you ever see a child in a shoe shop throwing the shoes on the floor, I assure you they mean no harm. They are just re-organising them how they likes it.

Hop hop wiggle wiggle

 

Brantano’s free kids fitting service: http://www.brantano.co.uk/en-gb/desktop/about-us/kids-fitting

 Find your nearest Brantano store here: http://www.brantano.co.uk/store-locator

 

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in Baby, blog, children, creative writing, Family, first shoes, Food, Health, life, Lifestyle, Motherhood, shoe shopping, shoes, shopping, weekend away, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

