Oh the Joy of Christmas Shopping!

Does that sound too sarcastic? Do I sound too much like a Scrooge? I hope not for I do love to get into the Christmas spirit. I just don’t take it to the extreme and cover every single inch of the house in tinsel and wear a Santa hat right up until New Year’s. I’m calm and collected (I like to think so) and try not to pull my purple hair out over this once a year holiday. However, there is one thing that I always dread and can’t wait to get over and done with, the one thing that gets me in a tizzy and makes me want to hide in my burrow in the warmth…the Christmas shopping.

Every year after Christmas I make a mental note to buy presents early throughout the year so when it comes to December I don’t have to rush around like a mad bunny trying to buy hundreds of presents and worry about whether or not it will still be in stock or if it’s the right thing. It gives me a headache and makes the whole Christmas shopping experience a nightmare. Even more so since the arrival of our son as he is a ticking time bomb that could explode with cries of frustration, hunger or nappy changes at any given moment. Lucky for us, he is an extremely well-behaved little Cabbit and holds off on playing up until we finally sit down to have some time to ourselves.

I like to buy presents for my family and loved ones that I think are useful and that they actually will want. I know I know this sounds obvious but I do think people tend to panic buy and just grab the nearest thing on the shelf that looks acceptable. Today when I was browsing the gift section all I could see was mass amounts of cardboard surrounding a tiny overpriced gift that would scream “last minute purchase”. I didn’t want to be fobbed off by the retailers trying to assure me that these ‘Christmas gifts’ where perfect, when in fact all I am buying is the novelty and a sh#t load of cardboard! Who else has been there on Christmas day with bin bag after bin bag filled with rubbish from packaging? What happened to save the earth and recycle? I am rambling, I do apologize. I just hate how things contradict themselves with shops saying to use recycling bags when they don’t do reasonable packaging, even though it should be the companies manufacturing these products that need to cut down on the excess waste. I will stop with the hippy talk as my husband puts it.

Anyway…I like to make sure that each present I get is suited for that person, I would hate to buy someone a useless gift or something that is entirely wrong. I believe in quality over quantity. Much more-so since I met my husband. I am hoping that one day I can again enjoy Christmas shopping, taking my time while sipping my eggnog latte (THEY ARE AMAZEING) but alas I just get pushed aside and punched in the boob over silly things like wrapping paper or gift tags, seriously people will act like animals if they can get away with it, especially when there’s a holiday as they use it as an excuse. Did you see what happened on Black Friday? Absolutely disgusting! All for what? A cheap TV you will throw away in a year for the next new model? It makes me feel sick to live in a world where people will hurt others for material objects. Very sad to see indeed.

I think this year’s Christmas shopping hasn’t gone too bad, we did our best to get stuff early and have finally got everyone’s presents. All that’s left is to wrap them with the gorgeous wrapping paper I picked up! I love it, would have it as wallpaper if I could. Its turquoise with purple glitter quills, gorgeous! Not xmassy you may say, I don’t care *sticks out tongue* I hope you enjoy your Christmas shopping or if not have treated yourself to a lovely warming beverage and a couple of chocolate biscuits.

Happy Holidays!

Hop hop wiggle wiggle

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in Baby, blog, Family, life, Lifestyle, Motherhood, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

