Being a mother: A full time job?

Lately days have blurred into weeks, months and before I knew it I was drinking a gingerbread latte at Starbucks in their charming festive cups. I can’t believe how fast this year has gone. Like for real. How fast? I mean seriously? If you can’t tell I am putting on a girly dramatic accent. It feels like only a year ago I was smiling to myself and stroking my belly as my son kicked happily away. Now he is kicking everything within sight, baby proofing EVERYTHING is exhausting, its hard work. It is a full-time job being a mother, or is it?

I was at the swings the other day with the boy when I got into a conversation with a nanny (Au-pair) about how people don’t see how being a mother as a full-time job. I wanted to laugh hysterically but was afraid I would worry her and the little girl she was with. I wouldn’t scare my son as he knows he has a mad mummy bunny. I thought it was utterly ridiculous that people say things like, ‘Being a mother isn’t a full-time job’. In some sense, I don’t see it as a ‘job’ but as a loving duty of responsibility I fully take on naturally. But it does have certain aspects to it that are job-like, getting up early, extremely short tea breaks and long hours of constant overtime. Being a mother is hard work; anyone who is a mother will know what I am talking about. There is very little time in the day to do as you please; you have to do what’s right by your child first and foremost. There’s never a moment’s peace, with a job you have a cut-off point, and you go home and can forget about work for a couple of hours before it all starts up again. As a mother, you don’t get that cut-off point. Its 24/7 dedicated to your child. Even when they leave home mothers will still worry about their children. It’s a never ending love that will never leave our hearts, as a mother it is our duty to worry, it’s only natural. (At this point I want to clarify that there a lot of extremely hard-working dads too-be it at work or home; that complement the work their partners/wives do with their children. Dads seem to go under-appreciated on a larger scale; I for one appreciate all my husband does to help me and vice-versa.)

Of course there are people that say, ‘Well you chose to be a mother, you have no right to moan about it’ which I laugh at. Yes, I chose to be a mother and I fully take on those responsibilities, I never in the slightest bit regret it. But don’t tell me I don’t have the right like any human being to have a little moan. People moan about their jobs that they have chosen willingly (I understand sometimes people don’t have much choice in the job they end up in but still) and I don’t tell you not to moan about it, I let you be so why won’t you let us mothers? At times it feels like the world is so one sided and everyone feels they have the right to criticise your lifestyle. Are we still living in the dark ages where freedom of speech is non-existent and we are restricted to grunts and groans for commentaries?

I do find it silly that there are still such close minded people in this world that can only see as far as the end of their interfering nose. Alas I must not get myself in such a tizz about it all, it won’t do any good and is a waste of my time which is golden to me these days. Oh how I miss the days of just sleeping the day away, a complete waste yes but the freedom to do so was bliss.

Anyway, as I was ‘ranting’ being a full time mother is a job and it isn’t. It depends on how you look at it. I set myself daily tasks that have to be completed and am my own boss, but my son is never, ever a job to be done. He is my son who I love and am hopelessly devoted to. He may need things done for him but he is a baby. How else is he supposed to get dressed and feed himself when he is still learning about the ways of the world? It makes me laugh, to the point where I feel sorry for people who feel the need to pity us mothers for they cannot see how much we feel for them that they will never truly understand the love of a mother to her child. A lot of feels there.

I am off to do a bit of reading, drink tea and maybe watch some more of The Tudors with the husband. Really getting into that show, not just because of all the naughty scenes but because of the history…yes the history! I will go with that!

 

Hop Hop, Wiggle Wiggle.

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in Baby, blog, Family, life, Lifestyle, Motherhood, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being a mother: A full time job?

  1. meagancnrd says:

    Haha, loved it and totally agree! I’ve got three little girls and it is most certainly a full time job (at least). Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

