Nothing quite beats that warm cosy feeling of being home

Apologies dear readers for the lack of posts of late, I have ‘technically’ been away on a mini holiday. My birthday was last week and I thought it was the perfect excuse for me and the family to take some much-needed time out in Devon. Lucky for me, this happens to be where I grew up so can also see my family while holidaying. *Squeals*

Nothing beats where you grew up, being home and drinking in that sweet smell of comfort and love that brings a wiggle to your tail. I do miss being in Devon, the endless land of green, chips by the sea and more cows and sheep than there are people. It’s a humble place to grow up which is why I feel so privileged to have spent my childhood days in The Shire.

Each day we spent on our mini holiday was bursting with activity! We went to Ilfracombe and had BBQ pulled pork hot dogs with a stunning view of the sea. Once we were stuffed to satisfaction, we went to the local arcade for amusement. I do love arcades. Hours of fun for pennies! After, we wandered round the little souvenir shops and admired the statute of the pregnant woman who overlooked the sea (Verity). A very interesting sculpture, on one side of her you could see her insides, flesh, bone and even the baby in her womb. On the other side, she was naked, but completely normal. It fascinated me.

058

The following day, hubby, son and I went to Atlantic Village to board a pirate ship and to do some much-needed retail therapy. After, we stopped by the local supermarket for ingredients to cook spaghetti bolognaise for everyone, my favourite dish. I like to do as much as I can to help out while I stay at home, so hubby and I offer to cook and wash up. Only polite I think.

A few days later we were off to one of my favourite places in the whole wide world, Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park. I truly only ever have fond memories of this amazing place. I loved seeing the dinosaurs as a kid, I would pretend I was in Jurassic Park and they were chasing me, even when we driving home, I played out the classic t-rex car chase scene. How could I not do that? It was asking to be done!

10632812_10153133297899202_7714129586380621993_n

On my birthday my age finally started to show and gave me an excruciatingly bad back. But I was determined to not stay in bed all day and to enjoy the fresh sea air with my little family. We loaded the car up with essentials and hit Woolacombe beach, another childhood favourite of mine. After paying an outrageous parking fee to park up, we took a slow stroll to the beach. It’s times like these that I love wearing my Doc Martens as the walk down to the beach was steep and our boots gave us that extra grip needed to help us steady ourselves down. Once onto the soft golden sand of the beach we headed towards the sea to let Cabbit have his first ever splash in the ocean. Of course as expected, he hated it, far too cold for his liking. Luckily for us, further inward there were some tiny paddling pools that were a lot warmer for Cabbit’s feet. We spent a good while all three of us just splashing about and enjoying the gorgeous weather. We then headed towards the shops where we got ice-cream! There was a funny moment when Cabbit grabbed his Father’s ice-cream when he wasn’t looking and stole a lick, well, he buried his face in his Father’s ice-cream. He was more than satisfied with his sneaky skills the cheeky monkey. For my birthday dinner we all went out with my parents to steak night and had a good natter before heading back to the house for cake! All in all, a perfect birthday, despite my back being the old woman that it is.

10665782_724451580959844_6578201282010731443_n

The last week we spent in Devon was very rocky as I got ridiculously ill and could not stop throwing up; I think I will spare you the details. But I got to have a mother/daughter day before I left which I have needed for ages! I got my hair cut and we did a bit of shopping before having a lovely little lunch at Costa. It’s important I get to spend time with my parents; living far from home does have its disadvantages. I can’t pop round for a cup of tea and a chat while they play with Cabbit. I have to wait weeks, sometimes months and I will never know when I next see them. But I am so grateful that they are there, at the end of the phone if I ever need someone to talk to. It’s hard living away from family but sometimes that’s just the way it has to be.

Now we are home we are ALL under the weather, poor little Cabbit has it the worst but still manages to keep a big smile on his face. How the hell does he do that? The stuff that has been coming out of his backside…don’t worry, I won’t put you off your tea, I will leave it there dear readers.

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in Baby, blog, Family, life, Lifestyle, Motherhood, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

