To Live By The Sea

All I need is to live by the sea

to wake up to the waves crashing at my door,

sail out on a piece of driftwood,

bid good morning to the sun with open arms

I would wander down the village road,

sit outside the local pub whose landlord has a small obsession

with penguins and engage in small conversation before

drinking a sweet cider straight from the bottle

so the wind can hoot a musical tune through its neck

I would have ice cream for lunch

not one scoop but two

the owner would know me well for

I would mmmm and ahhh at the mass variety

before settling with the usual with a big grin on my face

I would sit in a field picking daisies

to make myself a delicate chain

piercing their necks with my thumb

to slowly sew them together

when the sky is that mixture of dark blues and reds

I would pick up shells dusting them off,

place into my pocket to keep

for the vacant window sill at home

I would waddle to the shore

dip my toes in the wet sand, the chilling sensation

will make me smile and think of you

I would use my finger to spell my name out

leaving the sand rooted under my nails to remind me

what I have done

I would climb the shattered rocks, losing grip now and then

thanks to my bare wet feet

I would prod the rock pools with a twig to watch the ripples

before the day is done

I would find the bench overlooking the sea,

where I meet you

stab my chips with a small wooden fork

singing to myself

β€œOh I do like to live beside the Seaside”

By Emma Jane Mackay

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in life, Poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

