The Legend that was, Robin Williams

I remembered what I was doing when I heard the news. I was scrolling through my Facebook feed and there it was in bold black text. R.I.P Robin Williams. I nearly choked on my tea! I couldn’t believe it, how could this be? After a quick google search I soon realised that it was true and not some idea of a sick joke. The legend of comedy was gone.

imagesCA77EUPH

Since I was a child, Robin Williams has always made me laugh. From his classic role in Disney’s Aladdin as Genie to the boy who never wanted to grow up in Hook. If I was ever having a bad day or needed someone to make me giggle, he was there. I loved how he played roles that were just bursting with energy and humour. As I got older I saw his more serious films like What Dreams May Come and One Hour Photo and realised that he was more outstanding than I remembered. As a drama student at the time, his ability to do voices and always be in character inspired me in my own acting. For example I stumbled across this article one day, “The story goes that when Williams auditioned for the role of Mork, producer Garry Marshall told the hyperactive actor to sit down. Williams responded by doing a headstand on the proffered chair, leading Marshall to hire him because “he was the only alien who auditioned.” (Link below) This dedication to his role made me focus more on each character I portrayed, making me become whoever I played on stage. In short; a better actress.

imagesCAZD0K7R

It is such a loss and shame that we bid farewell to Robin Williams. When I read that he had hanged himself, I was shocked. I had no idea that he was battling with depression. It’s sad to see that some people still can’t see this as a mental illness. What will it take for people to open their eyes and see that sufferers need a friendly hand to pull them out of the darkness and back into the light? I won’t say any more about it as I could go on and I don’t want to wind myself up about it. At the end of the day people will believe what they want to believe because they are entitled to their opinion and we all think differently. I hope this tragic loss of a legend will make people more aware of this issue, depression needs to be recognized.

I’m sure you are in a better place Robin, and as Aladdin would say, “Genie, you’re free”

rw

Farwell dear friend, I will remember you not for your movies but for the way you always make me laugh. I hope you find peace where you are now.

“Like my life. You know, as we come to the end of this phase of our life, we find ourselves trying to remember the good times and trying to forget the bad times, and we find ourselves thinking about the future. We start to worry , thinking, “What am I gonna do? Where am I gonna be in ten years?” But I say to you, “Hey, look at me!” Please, don’t worry so much. Because in the end, none of us have very long on this Earth. Life is fleeting. And if you’re ever distressed, cast your eyes to the summer sky when the stars are strung across the velvety night. And when a shooting star streaks through the blackness, turning night into day… make a wish and think of me. Make your life spectacular. I know I did. I made it, Mom. I’m a grown up.”

 

 

Link: https://www.yahoo.com/movies/a-critic-looks-back-at-robin-williams-film-career-94489714222.html

 

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

