WE DID IT! TAKE THAT 5K! RACE FOR LIFE!!!

Yesterday was apparently the longest day in this year, it was also the day I completed the 5k Race For Life! Pink hair and all I was determined to do something to help kick cancer’s butt!

002

The day started off with being woken up as usual by my darling son who was demanding his breakfast along with hugs and kisses. After, baths were taken and bags were packed, you never know what you might need when on the go with a little one. We have learned from past mistakes of what to take ‘just in case’ such as a pair of extra clothes, more nappies than we think he will need and TONS of baby wipes! We are getting better and well and truly deserve a gold sparkly star. Once we were all ready to go, Cabbit’s great aunt picked us up who has been doing the Race For Life for years! Outstanding woman!

We arrived at Kempton Park Race Course for the event with plenty of time to adjust running numbers and back banners. I dedicated my race to my Grandad Stan who sadly lost his battle with cancer a few years ago. I know he is in a better place and is enjoying a nice cold pint in heaven while smiling down on his loved ones. It felt quite emotional to see hundreds of people with similar messages on their backs to loved ones battling, surviving, or who sadly lost to cancer. It’s a cruel world and such a horrible way to go which is what makes us more determined to help find a way to stop cancer in its tracks.

1524637_10152930629414202_301713287691733427_n

When we made sure we had smothered ourselves enough in suntan lotion and had freshly topped up bottles of water to hand, we made our way to the main event. It was easy to find, we just followed the sea of pink! Personally I am not really a fan of pink, which is why I decided to dye my hair pink to show my support and dress in black. I did think about dressing in pink but had second thoughts as pink on pink doesn’t really go and I wanted my hair to stand out. Anyway, once we found our way to the main event we dropped off our donation bags filled with unwanted clothes and watched the warm up. And I mean watched. You had (from what I could see as I was wearing sunglasses and am short-sighted) a very lean woman leading the work out, full of energy and shouting encouraging things to the crowd to join in. Now, I know I should have joined in but we were walking the 5K, you don’t have to run it. There are three sections, runners, joggers and walkers. If I was not five months post C-Section and in a better shape (I’m working on slowly exercising more believe it or not) I would be jumping at the chance. But Team Mackay had decided to walk and was proud to.

007

Once the warm up was over, I kissed my husband and son goodbye and set off with Team Mackay to the walkers section. The horn went and we were off, slowly, as you can imagine; hundreds of people all together at first there’s not much movement, but once people got going we started with a brisk pace. We didn’t have a care in the world as people overtook us, it didn’t matter as we were doing it in our own time. The route itself was beautiful! Lots of grass, trees and a lake. They even had a little function band along the way singing Fly Me To The Moon. The only downside of the whole thing was the HEAT! It was boiling! I am so glad I had a big bottle of water otherwise I would have melted into the ground. Even though I had plenty of suntan lotion on, I could feel the sun’s rays trying to burn my face (It failed HAHA) I have no idea how the runners were able to run in that heat. You even had super fit mothers running along with their buggies. You would not find me doing that, no way! We, Team Mackay were more laid back and even rewarded ourselves after each Kilometre with a jelly baby.

As the finishing line was 500 meters in sight we got blasted with bubbles that smelled like candyfloss. It was strange to experience but much enjoyed as it’s all part of the fun. We crossed the finishing line and saw it had taken us about 1hour and 10mins to complete. We were rewarded with medals and a little snack, which is always welcome in my book. I was more than happy to have finished the 5K, I couldn’t believe I had done it and in the demon sun’s presence! I hugged and kissed my son and husband as we made our way to a slush puppy stand for some serious ice drink needage.

016

I would love to say a big THANK YOU to my team mates, Jo-Jo and Elaine for completing the 5K with me, you both did an amazing job! I also want to thank my husband, son and Tim for coming out to support us. And lastly to everyone who donated to the cause! It is really appreciated and will truly help win this battle against cancer!

THANK YOU!

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

