Little Beach Street Bakery By Jenny Colgan (Book Review)

This week I finished the wonderful little book that is Little Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan. I picked up this bargain buy (About £4) in Asda, of all places. It has come to my attention lately that supermarkets are selling books a lot cheaper than your average bookstore. This makes it extremely hard for me to not come away with a whole new bookshelf dedicated to these new purchases each time I go food shopping. I am all for supporting local book shops; it’s just extremely taxing on my pennies. Must find a way to do both!

imagesf

Anyhow, I am extremely glad I picked up this book along with some doughnuts to munch on while enjoying myself in the written world of Colgan. I had never heard of Colgan before so I didn’t have any expectations.

The story follows Polly whose business with her partner and also boyfriend Chris has fallen through which allows her to rethink her chosen path in life. She ends up in Cornwall, in a quaint little seaside resort. Her passion for baking is quickly noted in the town and it’s not long before she is the hot topic of conversation. With love, betrayal and the harsh reality of life thrown into the baking mix, this is a story that will make you want to keep reading to the very end.

From the moment I opened the first page I could smell the bloomers baking in the oven, accompanied by other bakery treats. This story took me by surprise; it did not pan out how I thought it would. Underneath the struggle of Polly trying to regain control of her life, we find a sugary coated love story with a side-dish of friendship and loss. I really loved how Colgan took everything away from Polly forcing her to work hard to get back what she had lost. It was refreshing to see that not everything is handed to you on a plate in real life. So many books do this where everything is perfect for their characters, which makes for boring reading and self-pity.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is need of a bit of fresh air by the sea. It made me a little homesick and craving fish and chips. But, all in all an extremely pleasant read. I intend to read more of Colgan’s work!

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, Book Review, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

