Colouring Book Madness!

My dear husband has been extremely ill the past few weeks. I am doing my best to look after him as his bunny nurse, make him endless cups of tea and reminding him to take his medicine. I hate seeing the people I love ill; I never know how to cope with it; so I busy myself trying to be useful and tend to always end up baking. I believe good homemade food always helps you recover when you are ill. A bowl of hot chicken soup with a couple of slices of fresh bread can make all the differences. Food oh food! You are a life saver!

The other day we decided to take a walk in hope the fresh air would help and pick up some fruit for that extra boost of vitamins. We may have ended up in the toy shop wanting to buy everything Lego and pretend it was for our son. We also hopped into the local pet shops to swoon over the adorable squeaking piggies and bouncing bunnies; it’s always so hard to not come away with another addition to the Mackay family. After our silly stops we went to This ‘N’ That which is a small shop that sells, well as the title suggests this and that, bits and bobs. We ended up purchasing something that we both thought was a silly yet cute idea. A colouring book and a pack of felt tip pens. Cabbit is only 4 months old so of course we knew that he is a little too young for it but it doesn’t stop us indulging. The colouring book was more for us really; we are big children at heart.

Once we got home we couldn’t help but start our small colouring adventure. We flipped through the pages of the book until Cabbit chose a picture he was happy with, him being our son; we of course ended up with a dinosaur. He then picked the colours he wanted the dinosaur to be coloured in with, a red body, orange toenails, pink eyes and a green tongue. As soon as he saw his father start to colour the dinosaur in, he was fascinated, he couldn’t stop watching the colour bring the blank dinosaur to life. It was wonderful to see and made my husband forget about being ill for an hour or so while we all coloured in, a family effort! I love these little family moments like this, I forget about the worries of the world and just enjoy being with my boys.

1012861_10152838899094202_3934126345878081859_n

It made me realise how something as simple as a colouring book and pack of pens can be magic through a child’s eyes. I can’t wait until he is old enough to be colouring them in himself, but for now I am going to enjoy watching him be amazed by how wonderful life can be.

10365742_10152838945849202_8915623569082034566_n

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

