Book Review-Billy And Me By Giovanna Fletcher

I have been meaning to post a few blogs on here for the past week but life has that annoying habit of getting in the way. It is only now I find myself with some free time where I can munch on homemade cake, sip tea and write a little book review.

I have finally finished Billy And Me by Giovanna Fletcher after weeks of battling for some free time to sit down with a cuppa and indulge in a love story. Before I picked this book up I had heard mixed reviews about it and so was intrigued to see what all the hype was about.

images

The story follows Sophie May, your normal, average girl who works in a tea shop in Rosefont Hill. She is happy with her life; nothing exciting happens to her until the day Billy Buskin walks into the shop. Billy is an actor quickly rising to fame and takes an instant liking to Sophie. Their relationship quickly develops and before you know it Sophie has given up everything she has known to go live in London with Billy.

The reader sees the city life take its toll on Sophie and how dating a famous actor can make you feel inadequate. How you cannot survive solely on love; you need to be the person you were/are. Being in a relationship shouldn’t stop you from doing the things you love. This message is very strong throughout the book; you shouldn’t have to give up the person you were/are to be in a relationship. You are stepping into dangerous territory of possibly becoming depressed and losing who you are.

I’m not too sure how I feel about this book. There are parts I like and others I found a tad annoying. The plot was far too predictable and I didn’t care too much what happened to the characters, they felt very flat and 2D, I didn’t believe in them. The plot’s ‘twists’ were a little too obvious and stale for my liking. I found this book an easy read and found there was not a lot of detail or creativity to make me want to continue reading. I will be interested in seeing what Mrs. Fletcher’s next novel is like; I am always open to giving authors a second chance.

Overall I thought this book was ok, something to read when I don’t want to think too much but apart from that I doubt I would actively try to read it again. Not to my taste unfortunately.

But if you have read it and enjoyed it then that’s great, everyone has different tastes. Right now my taste is for CAKE! Where would we be in a world without cake…actually I don’t want to think about that too much…

Next book review will be Little Beach Street Bakery By Jenny Colgan.

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, Book Review, life, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

