Happy World Book Day!

Happy World Book Day to you, one and all! I hope you are enjoying this fine literary day by indulging in your favourite book. There’s nothing I love more than to spend an afternoon/night, sometimes a whole day just curled up in bed with a book. I love getting lost in other worlds and meeting new people with interesting stories to tell. I thought to celebrate this wonderful day I would share with you a few of my favourite authors and books. Enjoy!

Dead Witch Walking By Kim Harrison

‘I stood in the shadows of a deserted shop front across from The Blood and Brew Pub, trying not to be obvious as I tugged my black leather pants back up where they belonged.’

61QFIWTwQFL

My husband was well aware for my love of crime fiction and so decided to introduce me to the wonderful Kim Harrison. He said that if I like crime and a bit of fantasy, then I would love Dead Witch Walking. He was not wrong. I was hell-bent on proving him wrong, but soon forgot about that and started to enjoy this strange, alternate, modern-day magical world where witches and vampires openly walk the streets! The story tells of Rachel Morgan whose job is to investigate the use of black magic, werewolves, vampires and any mystic creatures that are in breach of the law. However she is set up and a hit man contract is taken out on her. Rachel must untangle a web of deceit in order to survive. If you are looking for something completely new to read I recommend giving it a go, I am in love with the series! All thanks to my husband! Thank you!

One Day By David Nicholls

‘You’re gorgeous, you old hag, and if I could give you just one gift ever for the rest of your life it would be this. Confidence. It would be the gift of confidence. Either that or a scented candle.’

one-day_summary

I first encountered this book in my second year of university on my creative writing course. I thought nothing much of it at first but that was before I started reading. I honestly could not put the book down. The story is about Emma and Dexter, two graduates who slept together one night and keep in touch as friends over the next twenty years, always on the same day-the 15th of July, St. Swithin’s Day. We see both characters change dramatically over this period and feel a real desperation for the two to just admit their feelings for one another. I felt like I could really relate to Emma’s experience of wanting to make it as a writer, yet being forced to do dead-end jobs just to make ends meet. I cried my heart out towards the end and have since started reading The Understudy By David Nicholls. He has a way with words and making the reader able to relate to his characters/situations.

The Moth Diaries By Rachel Klein

‘Ernessa is a vampire. She wants me, and only me, to see it. Her hand is guiding mine as I write these words.’

607872fd5631ec1a3f47f544b750b837

The Moth Diaries had me up many sleepless nights as I was enchanted by the world of a sixteen year old girl attending a boarding school where she suspects that a new classmate, Ernessa is a vampire. Not your average ‘Twilight’ saga, The Moth Diaries is a lot darker and sinister with the mysterious events that take place throughout the book. It left me with goose-bumps up my arms and is very addictive to read. I found it extremely hard to put down and have re-read it a dozen times. I still get the chilling feeling down my spine each time.

Bridget Jones’s Diary By Helen Fielding

‘Can officially confirm that the way to a man’s heart these days is not through beauty, food, sex, or alluringness of character, but merely the ability to seem not very interested in him.’

81CmQuKj0tL__SL1500_

What girl doesn’t love Bridget Jones? She’s funny, a bit clumsy and always says the wrong things. You have got to love Bridget for her view on the world and how she longs to find the one and escape the dreaded curse of the singletons. However she also empowers the single girls out there and shows us that being single is not as bad as people make it sound. The love triangle between Bridget, Cleaver and Darcy is classic, should she go for the bad guy or the good guy? There are moments where you will be shouting at her for her stupidity but also moments where you will be crying with laughter at how unlucky Bridget really is. At the end of the book you will feel like you have known her all your life and will be wondering what you would have done without her witty, yet not always fail-safe advice. God bless you Miss Jones!

I hope you all have a truly beautiful day caught up in words of wisdom from your favourite authors. I’m off to get lost in a book with a giant cup of tea, only thing missing is the doughnuts! Happy reading bookworms!

 

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

