The Kindle Vs Books (38 Weeks)

This has always been a touchy subject with me. When the Kindle first hit the stores I was outraged that an electronic device had the nerve to even try to compete against the great love affair that I have going with books. I didn’t understand why anyone would want to read off a screen rather than a page. It baffled me and still does in small doses to this day. I could never cross over to the dark side, not even if you paid me.

original_book-lover-charm-necklace

However, I do see the benefits of owning a Kindle, at a touch of a button you have an entire library at your fingertips. Trees will be safer and won’t be sacrificed for best-selling novels. You don’t have to worry about carrying around a ton of books if you go on holiday or fancy something new to read on your way to work. It just doesn’t appeal to me personally and I don’t judge anyone who owns one.

I am just a natural-born book lover; I love the feel of a book in my hands, the smell of the pages new or old. I enjoy the whole experience from the moment I turn that first page to the satisfaction I get when I finally finish and close the last chapter. I also like having them displayed on my bookshelf, they are like photos, reminding me of the stories and characters I have enjoyed over the years.

book hoarder_thumb[11]

My only worry with the Kindle is that library’s will slowly disappear. I really do hope and pray that that is never the case. A whole building dedicated to authors and their works, years and years of stories, facts, information. A place where you can go and escape for a few hours and it’s free. For poor people like me libraries are a godsend! I read loads and don’t have the money to keep up my habit. I would if I could but for the best part of my years, libraries have been my saviour and my good friend.

I hope books stay for years to come and don’t die out. I know in an ever-changing world we are always looking for new ways to improve what we already have but please, please leave books alone. They are perfect the way they are.

I am off to watch some movies and play some games with the husband. We are both a bit under the weather so it is soup for dinner and lots and lots of rest. Being pregnant and felling even more rubbish is not fun.

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

