To breastfeed or not to breastfeed, that is the question? (32 Weeks)

Every time I visit the Midwife or the GP they ask me the same question, “Have you thought about breastfeeding?” And every time I say the say the same thing, “Yes, I am going to breastfeed” I have always known I wanted to breastfeed as isn’t that the whole point of our breasts apart from looking absolutely fabulous?

I read an article the other day about women who are afraid to breastfeed out in public because they fear of what people may think. Ridiculous! They are going to think you are a mother feeding your baby! And besides, who cares what they think? It’s none of their business if you decide to breastfeed or not. I understand women may feel a little uncomfortable getting a boob out in public, but I’m sure there are ways to be discreet like with a blanket, sling or scarf, I’ve even read reviews on some tops that are specially designed for it (some of which actually look ok too!). It’s our natural right as mothers to breastfeed. It’s what our breasts were made for and helps build that special bond between mother and baby. It is also the best source of food for them and provides baby with everything they need, most impressively, antibodies. My confidence has taken a bit of a back seat lately but it’s not going to stop me from breastfeeding my baby because I am too afraid. If I feel self-conscious I will find a way to overcome it, I want the best possible start in life for my little Cabbit.

My midwife also gave Rob and I a breastfeeding DVD to watch which was helpful.  It explained about why it is so important to breastfeed and how to correctly feed your baby. As educational as it was I couldn’t help but giggle at some of the faces the babies were pulling at the camera. The mothers would be talking to the midwives, asking questions while their baby sat on their lap, and the babies would just keep pulling disgusted looks.  Poor things, they had no idea what was going on.

Anywho, boobs! If you’re a soon to be mum I would most definitely say breastfeed if you can and don’t worry about anyone else’s opinions or if you can’t, there are always a plethora of formula feeds to choose from. There’s always help and support around you during and after pregnancy so any fears you may have can be discussed with your midwives.

Boobs are the way forward! Booooooooooooooooooooobs!

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To breastfeed or not to breastfeed, that is the question? (32 Weeks)

  1. Pingback: I don’t care how you feed your baby | Aschenbach

Leave a Reply

