Fear of the unknown (30 Weeks)

Have you ever found yourself lying in bed at 3 o’clock in the morning thinking about death? This disturbing thought crept out from under my bed the other night and proceeded to torment me for hours. If only it had been a happier conversation over tea and a plate of jammy dodgers, I’m sure I would have felt a hell of a lot better but alas it was not.

death_with_tea_5579

It’s a bleak subject to discuss, death. It sounds so final and dramatic. Death. The be all and end all. The circle of life and so forth. We are all aware that it’s something that happens. It’s the way of life. We are born and then we die. There’s no way to escape it, it will happen to us all when our time comes. Yet why does it frighten us so?

Well, it’s obvious isn’t it? It’s the fear of the unknown. No one knows what happens after you die. If you’re religious then you are welcomed by your God into paradise. But for those that aren’t, there’s no telling what awaits us. Many people’s theory is that it’s very much like before you were born, nothing. You don’t remember anything, it’s just black and that’s it. Which is why we fear it. We worry that there is nothing after we die. That we have nothing to look forward to. It can drive you mad thinking about it, thoughts whirling around in your head mocking you, and trying in an ironic sense, to frighten you to death. But the memory of us will live on in others, so in a sense we don’t really die, not completely. We are remembered by loved ones through memories and photos. We are alive in those memories, never forgotten and never truly gone.  We humans have developed our own immortality. The human mind and its children (inventions) are truly amazing things.

What did I do the other night when this shadow of doom passed over me you may ask? I laughed, I laughed in the face of death. Because when it comes down to it, the point of life is to live it and not fear the end. There’s no point in worrying about what can’t be stopped. It’s out of our hands. I am going to live my life to the full, taking chances, opportunities and making sure I spend as much time around loved ones as possible. I’m going to do the things I want to do and not be scared of what others may say. It’s my life; it’s now or never… as Bon Jovi would say or rather sing.

So that’s what I am going to do. Now I am going to watch Thumbelina because it is an awesome film while stuffing my face with pasta! This is the life!

Thumbelina_Bluth_1994

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

