Doomspell

Have you ever read a book; thought it was really good, forgotten about it and then wondered a few months or years later, “What the hell was the name of that bloody good book!”  I was struck with this dilemma the other day.

As a teenager going to the local library was a religious routine for me. That and swinging past the bakery on my way home to pick up buns and treats to scoff while reading. This MAY explain why I put on a few pounds here and there then? I loved browsing the shelves of all the stories waiting to be explored at the touch of my fingertips. I liked to pick up a good few different genres and explore different authors rather than sticking to the same one. It was upon one of these many visits that I discovered a book that made me read it in under a couple of hours. Once I had read the first opening sentence I was hooked. I read it three more times before I had to return it and then proceeded to borrow the next in the series. I was in love with how much I felt transported away to this magical kingdom and wished I could write something just as good. I told myself I would buy these books that I had to have them on my bookshelf so I could read them again and again. Yet, as we know life gets in the way and things like studying for my GCSE’s, hanging out with mates and finding a proper job happened and my desire for the books moved further down the list. Before I knew it I had forgotten all about that magical time spent being whisked away to another world. I had the memory of reading something great but couldn’t figure out what it was called and no matter how many times I googled what I thought it was, I never found it.

That was until luck hit me and I spotted it the other day in a book store. I instantly recognised the cover and was so nearly tempted to scream ‘OH MY GOD!’ In a cliche kind of world, I felt like I had won the lottery.

doomspell

I am now very happy to say that the book I was looking for so long was, The Doomspell by Cliff McNish. As soon as I have a bit of spare cash they will find a proud place on my bookshelf. I hope fellow book forgetters remember titles they have spent years searching for, my advice to you is to never give up! It’s out there, somewhere!

139014838c02114556900d1265d2caa7-d48l5hh

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in blog, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

