Things I have learnt during pregnancy (Week 23)

We are all told different stories about pregnancy. How much your mum really craved Mars bars when she was expecting you or how you’re allowed to eat twice as much as normal. Whatever the story, we have all heard it. Since being pregnant I have learned a few things and thought as I’m such an amazing person I would share then with you, enjoy fellow readers.

1.)    You can eat as much as you like!

Wrong, oh so very wrong. One of the first things my GP told me was that eating twice as much when pregnant is a myth. I should aim to add an extra 200 calories if I want to but other than that I am not permitted to stuff my face with doughnuts all day as I had dreamed about. There goes my dream about being like Homer and eating all the doughnuts in the world. It is apparently more dangerous to overeat when pregnant. As long as you’re eating healthy and taking your folic acid (preferably with vitamin D) you should be A-OK. I also never knew before that there are certain foods you cannot eat while pregnant like runny eggs or too much tuna. A real pain when you are craving them!

homer-donut-machine-simpsons

2.)    People give up their seats to you on the bus.

This has not happened to me yet and I don’t expect it to. People hate moving once they have placed their bum on a seat.  I have been lucky enough to get a seat every time when I do use the bus but I have witnessed more than once no one moving when a heavily pregnant woman boards the bus.  Pregnant women have to ask and even then some people tell them where to go. This is why I hate public transport; people are more rude than normal because they feel like the world owes them something. Must stop myself before I start a rant!

3.)    The toilet is my new friend

I won’t go into too much detail but basically the toilet and I are spending a lot of quality time together. Whether it’s an afternoon with my head stuck down it or the middle of night where I’m visiting it every five minutes. Like I said, I won’t go into too much detail.

congratulations-are-in-order

 

4.)    Cravings, oh the cravings!

I have had some odd cravings like apple and peanut better together but sometimes I just crave normal food like scones or prawn crackers. When these cravings hit it’s a real pain! What’s worse is if I go out and get my cravings, shortly after I feel like I don’t want to eat it ever again. It’s strange and annoying.  Like right now I’m craving cheeseburgers, I know as soon as I eat one I won’t want to touch one for a while. Damn you cravings, damn you!

bounce_back_pregnancy_cravings

 

5.)    Catching some Zzzzz

I miss uninterrupted sleep. There was a time when my head would hit the pillow and I would be gone to the world. Now I am turning on my side all night, rearranging my pillows, throwing the covers off to then only throw them back on again, running to the bathroom, it’s a constant pain. I don’t get much sleep because baby or my stomach growing is keeping me up. I have been told that in a way it’s preparing me for when baby arrives and is crying at night. I suppose when it happens at least I will be used to it. God I miss sleep!

CAN_T_SLEEP_CLOWNS_WILL_EAT_ME_by_FUTURELISA1

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet, Reviewer, Bookworm, Gamer, Music Lover, Wife and Mother! I live in Scotland with my husband, our two sons, two guinea pigs and two bunnies! That's a lot of twos! I love tea, dinosaurs, books, and am obsessed with pastries and bakery goodness! Check out my Youtube Channel, Bunny's Pause where I Vlog my life, do book reviews and helpful advice videos. I look forward to meeting you all and having tea and cake together! Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things I have learnt during pregnancy (Week 23)

  1. The loo is my best friend too!! The joys of pregnancy huh?!

Leave a Reply

