Heavenly Homemade Butter Biscuits

Published May 25, 2014 by masonlovesdoughnuts

In the wee hours a few mornings ago, I had a mad thought. It happened as I was waiting for the kettle to boil so I could make my son’s breakfast, he had decided that 4am was the perfect time to start his day. I am not a morning person; I should have a warning splashed across my morning cup of tea to ward people off. Anyway, I was thinking about how much I wanted to bake something from scratch, so I did a quick search on my iPhone and stumbled upon a little recipe. I double checked we had the ingredients and readied myself for baking; first I had to feed my son. As if I could forget about him!

Once my son was fed and settled with his father I set about with this baking experiment. It is only a simple shortbread recipe but I was excited to be making something that wasn’t a premade mix. Don’t get me wrong, premade mixes are a lifesaver as a mother but there are times when I want to be a real baker and get my paws doughy. Once I had finished making my creations I popped them in the oven for 20 minutes and waited nervously for the results. It may sound silly but I am a perfectionist, especially when it comes to baking. It has to be up to my perfect bunny standards!

After twenty minutes, I opened the oven to be welcomed with a wave of hot, sweet sugary air devouring my nostrils with edible goodness. As soon as I saw my plump biscuits all golden brown, I smiled and jumped for joy! They looked and smelled like heaven! I kid you not; all I could smell was a gorgeous butter, doughy yumminess. I popped the biscuits on a plate and allowed them to cool before I presented them to my husband for panda approval. I got more than that, he loved them and he is not the sort for bakery products. He enjoyed them so much he begged me to make more, which of course I did! So for the past week we have been living off my homemade biscuits. I want to experiment by throwing in some raisins or chocolate chips to see if it will make them even more heavenly. But for now, they just melt in my mouth! *drools*

10336607_10152843937734202_3952524728382059807_n

 

Below is the recipe I used, give it a go if you fancy. I believe the trick is to grease your baking tray well with butter, not only does it help the biscuits not stick to the bottom but also gives them a bit more of a buttery taste. ENJOY! Happy Baking!

Easy Shortbread

Ingredients

150 grams plain flour

100 grams margarine

50 grams  caster sugar

Method

  1. Preheat oven 160C, Gas mark 6.
  2.  Cream together the butter and sugar in a bowl. Gradually mix in the flour. Using your hands knead the mix together into a smooth ball.
  3. Roll out to about 1/2 cm thick. Cut out your shapes and place on baking tray.
  4. Bake for 10-15min. Sprinkle with a little sugar while they cool.

Website: http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/easy-shortbread-1283

 

 

 

One comment on “Heavenly Homemade Butter Biscuits

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers

