Why Do We Never Look Where We Are Going? (34 Weeks)

Published December 10, 2013 by masonlovesdoughnuts

Like a little kid I love riding at the top of a double-decker bus.  I look down at the people below going about their daily business, walking the dog, shopping for groceries, the normal, mundane stuff that life consists of. All these small insights into other people’s lives fascinate me like the strange person that I am and make me want to write, write and write!

However the other day I witnessed incidents that made me gasp out loud and I never gasp out loud. I’m not a gasper! People where throwing themselves in front of traffic, literally just walking out and not looking where they were going. I thought I was seeing things. Why would we step out into traffic with our eyes closed? The amount of times I saw cars skim people’s bodies and manage to make it with little more than a life threating experience was horrifying. What happened to our highway safety code? You know, the one with the hedgehog telling the other hedgehog to look both ways to avoid getting squashed. I like that hedgehog, very wise.

It made me wonder, are we all in such a hurry to live our lives that we put ourselves in danger to live faster? Have we forgotten how to look both ways and cross the road safety? Why do people risk stepping out into the road when there is a car coming, why can’t we wait a few more seconds to cross safely rather than face an instant mini heart attack of whether we will make it across or not?

It was a terrifying sight to witness so many people in the space of a twenty minute bus journey, wondering aimlessly into traffic. By risking their life are they really going anywhere faster? I don’t understand why people these days aren’t patient enough and just wait those few extra seconds that could save their life. Another thing to add to my long list of why the world we live in has become madder each day. I wish the white rabbit would appear and I could disappear down the rabbit hole, Wonderland would be a hell of a lot saner pace to live than earth right now.

The-Cheshire-Cat-alice-in-wonderland-25961730-800-400

I am off to try tea without milk as we have none in the house; I am gasping for a cuppa! Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

